Southwest Tribal Map | Craftsmanship Magazine Skip to content

The Southwestern region of the United States is the ancestral homeland of hundreds of unique tribes and communities of Indigenous Peoples, each with its own language and cultural customs. The region, as commonly defined, comprises Arizona, New Mexico, and adjacent portions of California, Colorado, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah. Some of the tribal territories within the region are designated as Reservations, Indian Nations, or Nations; others as Tribal Communities or Tribal Territories. Not all are federally recognized.

The map below reflects only the tribal affiliations and lands of the artisans and other contributors featured in Craftsmanship Magazine’s Fall 2022 issue. To learn about the Southwest’s many other Native American tribes, please visit the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian website.

The image above is a basic, non-interactive map of the section of the American Southwest region that is the focus of the Fall 2022 issue of Craftsmanship Magazine. The five labels on the map cover the following tribes, and their general locations, in clockwise order from top:

Back To Top